Warner, Marsh and Langer to miss T20s

Rob Forsaith |

David Warner and Mitch Marsh headline the notable omissions in Australia’s 16-man squad for a Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka, while coach Justin Langer will also be absent.

Australia are hosting Sri Lanka in a five-match T20 series, with the games to be spread across the SCG, Manuka Oval and MCG on February 11-20.

There were fears that selectors could be forced to pick separate squads for those white-ball games and the ensuing three-Test series in Pakistan, which starts on March 3.

That has not transpired, although Langer is among the members of support staff set to be on leave during the T20 series.

Andrew McDonald will serve as head coach in Langer’s absence, as was the case during last year’s T20 tour of New Zealand

Warner and Marsh, who both played key roles in Australia’s T20 World Cup triumph in the UAE, will also sit out the five T20s ahead of the trip to Pakistan.

Legspinner Mitchell Swepson, who is poised to make his Test debut in Pakistan, is the other member of Australia’s T20 World Cup squad that was omitted from the squad named on Tuesday.

Fit-again paceman Josh Hazlewood is poised to return from his side strain during the T20 series, while Travis Head’s impressive red-ball form has resulted in a T20 call-up.

BBL player of the tournament Ben McDermott, Sydney Sixers captain Moises Henriques, and paceman Jhye Richardson have also been named in the T20 squad.

“This squad will begin preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup defence at home later this year and includes several players who have an early chance to impress,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said.

“David Warner and Mitch Marsh will miss the campaign to prepare for the Pakistan tour.

“Justin Langer and a number of other core support staff will take planned leave in preparation for the Pakistan tour.”

Cricket Australia (CA) is expected to make a call on the future of Langer in coming weeks.

Langer’s current contract expires soon after the tour of Pakistan.

Australia’s 16-man T20 squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.