Scorchers to bat first against Sixers

Steve Barrett |

Perth Scorchers captain Ashton Turner has won the toss and elected to bat first in the top-of-the-table BBL clash against the Sydney Sixers at Metricon Stadium.

The Sixers were preparing to take on Brisbane Heat in the Tuesday evening fixture but a last-minute scheduling switch was forced after positive COVID-19 cases were recorded in the Heat squad this morning.

The Scorchers were originally due to take on the Sydney Thunder this Thursday but have stepped up with the Heat, following PCR testing on all their players and support staff, to tackle the Sixers on Wednesday night instead.

Tuesday’s match will be English quick Tymal Mills’ last appearance for the Scorchers before he joins England’s Twenty20 squad for a five-match series in the West Indies.

Left-arm seamer Jason Behrendorff, who was rested after a short turnaround following Sunday’s win over the Melbourne Stars, has been replaced by speedster Lance Morris.

The Sixers, chasing their fifth successive victory, made three changes with Jackson Bird, Stephen O’Keefe and Jack Edwards coming in for Daniel Hughes, Shadab Khan and Lloyd Pope.

Perth Scorchers: Ashton Turner (capt), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Laurie Evans, Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Tymal Mills, Lance Morris, Colin Munro, Kurtis Patterson, Andrew Tye.

Sydney Sixers: Moises Henriques (captain), Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Hayden Kerr, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, James Vince.