Heat to bowl as Stars chase Gabba BBL win

Murray Wenzel |

Brisbane Heat have chosen to bowl first as they chase back-to-back Big Bash League wins against the travelling Melbourne Stars.

The Stars (2-3) sit seventh but will arguably field their strongest side, with former Test opener Joe Burns set to play against his former BBL club for the first time.

The in-form Xavier Bartlett and allrounder Jack Wildermuth are the Heat’s X-factor subs, while Sam Rainbird, Nick Larkin will warm the bench for the visitors at the Gabba.

The Heat returned to form on Thursday, notching a BBL11-high total win over Adelaide and can move into the top four with victory on Monday night.

BRISBANE HEAT: Max Bryant, Chris Lynn, Ben Duckett, Sam Heazlett, Tom Cooper, Jimmy Peirson (c) (wk), James Bazley, Mark Steketee, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Matt Kuhnemann, Liam Guthrie

MELBOURNE STARS: Marcus Stoinis, Joe Clarke (wk), Joe Burns, Glenn Maxwell (c), Andre Russell, Hilton Cartwright, Beau Webster, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Qais Ahmad, Brody Couch