Birthday boy Le Brocq claims Townsville Supercars pole

Jacob Shteyman |

Jack Le Brocq is in pole position for the last race of the Supercars season.
Jack Le Brocq is in pole position for the last race of the Supercars season.

Jack Le Brocq has celebrated his 32nd birthday in Townsville by claiming pole position in the final Supercars race of the season in North Queensland.

It has been a challenging season for Le Brocq and Erebus Motorsports, who have been unable to win a single race after teammate Brodie Kostecki topped the championship in 2023.

Le Brocq outpaced rival Cam Waters by one-thousandth of a second to take out the top-10 shootout ahead of race 14 on Sunday.

The Tickford Racing ace won Saturday’s race from pole position and looked set to take top spot on the grid again after claiming the provisional pole in qualifying. 

Times were about half a second slower than Saturday’s shootout as drivers struggled for grip on the slippery Reid Park surface.

“It was greasy then, it was definitely a very different track to what we had earlier today,” Le Brocq said.

“But the guys did an awesome job. The car was quick, it got the job done, stoked.”

Blanchard Racing’s James Courtney was first out of the pit in the shootout and held top spot until birthday boy Le Brocq knocked him off, finishing in a creditable third, especially considering he clipped the wall out of turn three.

Championship leader Will Brown has it all to do in race 14. The Triple Eight ace was absent from the shootout after coming 17th fastest in qualifying and will have to do even better than his sensational race on Saturday when he snagged a podium from 13th in the grid.

Broc Feeney (1341 pts) is well placed to close the gap on teammate Brown (1482 pts) at the top of the standings after he claimed the sixth fastest lap in the shootout.

Sunday’s 88-lap race begins at 2.40pm local time.


1.  Jack Le Brocq (Erebus Motorsport) 1:14.246

2. Cam Waters (Tickford Racing) +0.001s

3. James Courtney (Blanchard Racing Team) +0.049s

4.  Thomas Randle (Tickford Racing) +0.117s

5. Will Davison (Dick Johnson Racing) +0.226s

6. Broc Feeney (Triple Eight Race Engineering) +0.227s

7. Anton De Pasquale (Dick Johnson Racing) +0.233s

8. Chaz Mostert (Walkinshaw Andretti United) +0.249s

9. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus Motorsport) +0.269s

10. Matt Payne (Grove Racing) +0.423s