Five new faces in Wallaroos squad for Fijiana Test

Melissa Woods |

A new-look Wallaroos squad are hoping to bounce back from a disappointing Pacific Four series.
A new-look Wallaroos squad are hoping to bounce back from a disappointing Pacific Four series.

Wallaroos coach Jo Yapp has made five changes to the squad for their next Test match from the players who competed in the Pacific Four series.

The Australian women will take on Fijiana at Allianz Stadium as part of a double-header with the Wallabies, who face Wales later on Saturday

Queensland Reds trio Natalie Wright, Madison Schuck and Tiarna Molloy join Western Force pair Tamika Jones and Alapeta Ngauamo as the fresh faces in the 30-player squad, while halfback Samantha Wood is unavailable due to injury.

Schuck and Molloy return to the squad after making their debuts previously with uncapped trio Wright, Jones and Ngauamo aiming for a maiden Test jersey.

The remainder of the squad contains 13 players from Super W champions NSW including Caitlyn Halse, who became the youngest Test debutant aged 17 during the Pacific Four series in May.

Caitlyn Halse.
Caitlyn Halse takes the USA defence on during the Pacific Four series. (James Ross/AAP PHOTOS)

The ACT Brumbies have seven players as uncapped trio Allana Sikimeti, Biola Dawa and Lydia Kavoa continue to push for a Wallaroos debut while Queensland Reds have five in total, Western Force four and Ash Marsters from the Melbourne Rebels.

Yapp said the team’s preparation was on track after a training camp in Canberra.

“We’ve had a really good few days at the AIS in Canberra preparing for the next two Test matches,” Yapp said.

“The players have taken a noticeable step up over the last few weeks and our intra squad match on Saturday was a great opportunity to prepare and play at Test match level.

“The camp and game has given opportunities for new faces to join the squad and it’s important for us to keep building together with the World Cup just over 12 months away.”

After Fijiana the Wallaroos shift to Brisbane where they’ll take on New Zealand’s Black Ferns at Ballymore Stadium on Sunday July 14.

WALLAROOS: Lori Cramer, Biola Dawa, Piper Duck, Georgina Friedrichs, Caitlyn Halse, Brianna Hoy, Tamika Jones, Eva Karpani, Lydia Kavoa, Atasi Lafai, Kaitlan Leaney, Michaela Leonard (capt), Ashley Marsters, Arabella McKenzie, Desiree Miller, Faitala Moleka, Tiarna Molloy, Layne Morgan, Tania Naden, Leilani Nathan, Alapeta Ngauamo, Bridie O’Gorman, Siokapesi Palu, Trilleen Pomare, Madison Schuck, Allana Sikimeti, Cecilia Smith, Maya Stewart, Tabua Tuinakauvadra, Natalie Wright.