NSW unchanged for women’s Origin decider

Jasper Bruce |

The same Sky Blues who were pipped in game two will play the Origin decider in Queensland.
The same Sky Blues who were pipped in game two will play the Origin decider in Queensland.

NSW have resisted temptation to make changes to their squad for the decider of the inaugural three-match women’s State of Origin series.

Outside backs Jess Sergis and Jaime Chapman have both been named to line up in Townsville on June 27 after playing through minor leg injuries in the game-two loss to Queensland.

Kylie Hilder was firm on sticking solid with her 17 for game three, despite the Maroons sneaking up on the Sky Blues for a famous win in Newcastle last time.

“We came very close to wrapping up the series in game two, and the girls are very focused that we get another chance to do that in Townsville,” she said.

Lauren Brown.
Lauren Brown’s late field goal settled Origin II on a wild and wet night in Newcastle. (Dan Himbrechts/AAP PHOTOS)

Premiership-winning forward Olivia Kernick has been named to start at lock after making a late switch from the bench in the first two games of the series.

North Queensland recruit Jakiya Whitfeld has reverted to 18th player after being usurped for game one by playmaker Kirra Dibb, who drops back to the extended squad.

Rachael Pearson and Corban Baxter will remain in the halves, with Newcastle wunderkind Jesse Southwell again overlooked.


Emma Tonegato, Jaime Chapman, Jess Sergis, Isabelle Kelly (capt), Tiana Penitani, Corban Baxter, Rachael Pearson, Millie Elliott, Olivia Higgins, Caitlan Johnston-Green, Kezie Apps (capt) Yasmin Clydsdale, Olivia Kernick, Taliah Fuimaono, Keeley Davis, Grace Kemp, Sarah Togatukia, Jaikya Whitfeld (18th player), Kirra Dibb (extended bench), Ellie Johnston (extended bench).