Hall to equal Paralympic swim benchmark in Paris

Steve Larkin |

Triple gold medallist Brenden Hall will equal the Australian swim record for most Paralympics after earning selection for a fifth Games.

Hall will equal Matt Levy’s benchmark when he competes at the Paris Games starting in August.

Ahmed Kelly and his great mate Grant Scooter Patterson will swim at their fourth Paralympics after being named among a 30-strong swim team.

Freestyler Alexa Leary is among seven athletes to make their Paralympic debut in Paris.

Australian Paralympic chef de mission Kate McLoughlin announced the team at the end of the para-component of Australia’s swim selection trials in Brisbane on Friday night.

“Australia has had huge success in Paralympic swimming, from the first Games in 1960 in Rome where the late Daphne Hilton won the country’s very first gold medal in the sport,” McLoughlin said.

“In Tokyo, our swimmers brought home 33 medals including eight gold.

“We’ll have another strong team of swimmers representing us in Paris and I know they’ll be prepared and determined to give their absolute best.”

Australia’s Paralympic swim team:

Jesse Aungles, Emily Beecroft, Ricky Betar, Lewis Bishop, Rowan Crothers, Katja Dedekind, Tom Gallagher, Jasmine Greenwood, Brenden Hall, Benjamin Hance, Timothy Hodge, Jack Ireland, Ella Jones, Jenna Jones, Ahmed Kelly, Alexa Leary, Paige Leonhardt, Maddie McTernan, Jake Michel, Chloe Osborn, Grant Patterson, Lakeisha Patterson, Col Pearse, Alex Saffy, Callum Simpson, Keira Stephens, Ruby Storm, Holly Warn, Rachael Watson, Poppy Wilson.