Mostert cruises to Supercars win at GP

Oliver Caffrey |

Chaz Mostert has capitalised on a tyre failure to runaway Supercars championship leader Shane van Gisbergen to secure his second win of the Melbourne 400.

The Walkinshaw Andretti United flyer already held a handy break on van Gisbergen with two laps remaining before disaster struck for the defending champion on Sunday.

After blowing a tyre, van Gisbergen was forced into the Albert Park pits allowing Mostert to cruise to his third victory of 2022.

Van Gisbergen crossed the line in 20th to finish an otherwise impressive weekend on a low note.

The Red Bull Ampol star (six wins) and Mostert (three) remain this season’s only victors after nine races across three rounds.

Mostert’s success on his 30th birthday puts some some pressure on van Gisbergen’s bid for back-to-back titles after his scintillating start to the season.

“We weren’t that competitive on the soft (tyre) for a start but the boys did a fantastic pit-stop and we stuck to our strategy,” Mostert said.

“You’ve got to put Shane under pressure because he obviously had a beast under him, but one little more mistake and it can be all over.

“So grateful the team did such an awesome job and it probably gave us a win.

“We’ve still got some work to do but overall to get two wins this week is awesome.”

Mostert won the opening race of the round on Friday, before van Gisbergen took out both of Saturday’s races.

Will Davison’s long wait for his maiden win with Shell V-Power continues, finishing second after starting from pole.

The Ford veteran’s last Supercars victory came back at Bathurst in 2016.

Davison’s teammate Dick Johnson Racing teammate Anton De Pasquale secured the last podium spot.

The Supercars will next race on April 30 when the touring car series return to Perth for the first time since 2019.


1. Chaz Mostert (Holden)

2. Will Davison (Ford)

3. Anton De Pasquale (Ford)

4. Tim Slade (Ford)

5. Brodie Kostecki (Holden)